Home  · About Us  · Board & Staff  · Current Projects  · Mission Statement  · Contact Us  · Help & Contribute

    Previous Scholarships Presented by The Mountain of Hope Organization...

2018 Mountain Of Hope Organization Scholarships
MOHO 2018 Scholarship Winners

Four Oak Hill High School Students Receives Mountain Of Hope Scholarship

MOUNT HOPE, WV (WOAY) – The Mountain of Hope Organization awarded 4 local students with scholarships over the Memorial Day weekend at its annual community picnic at Graney Park in Mount Hope. With this year’s awards, the Mountain of Hope Organization has presented nearly $40,000 in Scholarships since it started awarding scholarships 7 years ago.

The scholarship awards were presented by Pastor Jessie O. Parker of the First Assembly of God Church in Mount Hope. This year’s recipients were....

Read the full story at... [ WOAY TV ]

2017 Mountain Of Hope Organization Scholarships
MOHO 2017 Scholarship Winners

MOHO presents annual scholarships

The Mountain of Hope Organization (MOHO) recently presented their annual individual $1500 scholarships to three deserving recipients.

The MOHO Scholarship Program recognizes the commitment of high school students to their education and their communities. This year’s contribution brings the total disbursement to over $34,000.

The 2017 winners are Tyrese Selinger, Emma Pino and Kevin Markham...

Read the full story at the... [ Fayette Tribune ]

MOHO 2016 Scholarship Winners 2016

Organization Gives Scholarships to Four Fayette County Students
By Justin McLennan, WVVA Multimedia Journalist

The Mountain of Hope Organization hosted a picnic Sunday afternoon to recognize local students earning scholarships for college.

The event took place at Graney Memorial Park in Mount Hope where four deserving students received a $1,500 scholarship to go toward the college of their choosing.

Over the organization's five year history, it's awarded nearly $20,000 in scholarship money to local students.

This year's recipients were Michaela Conelly of Mountain View Christian School, and Demitrus Jones, Deonte Scruggs and Marshall Cox of Oak Hill High School.

Mountain of Hope Board of Director Stewart Payne said the award can have an enormous impact on a student's life.

"These $1,500 scholarships go a long way in a student's life,” Payne said. “In fact I received a message from my very first recipient. He said to me through a Facebook message how valuable that scholarship was to him. That was over five years ago."

Mountain of Hope raises money to fund their scholarship program through a charity golf tournament every year at Glade Springs Resort. This year's event is set to take place August 26th.

View the... Original Story at WVVA.com

Also read the story at WeAreWVProud.com... Fayette County Graduates Awarded with Scholarships

MOHO 2015 Scholarship Winners 2015

On Sunday, May 24th, The Mountain of Hope Organization held its annual community picnic at Graney Park. The weather was great and we enjoyed having over 100 members of the community join us for food, music, fellowship.

In addition to acknowledging our annual scholarship recipients, we also acknowledged Coach Gene Spadaro for his many decades of service to students and athletes at Mount Hope High School. The highlight of the day was the acknowledgement of our scholarship recipients for the 2015 scholarship cycle. Each recipient received a $1,500 scholarship. The recipients were:

Lindsey Jordan - Plans to attend Marshall University
Jacob Lafferty - Plans to attend West Virginia University
Christopher Markham - Plans to attend New River Community Technical College

Also receiving his second $1,500 scholarship award was Nicholas Oxendale in his second year at West Virginia Institute of Technology.

MOHO 2014 Scholarship Winners 2014

Shane Stafford, right, visited Oak Hill High School last week to present scholarships to three OHHS seniors on behalf of the Mountain of Hope organization. Accepting the scholarships were Nick Oxendale, left, Jalen Jones and Peyton Jones...

Read the... Full Article (FayetteTribune.com)

MOHO 2013 Scholarship Winners 2013

On Saturday afternoon, May 26, 2013, the Mountain of Hope Organization presented their second annual round of collegiate scholarships to Tara Ann Hamilton, Robin Terone Gore and Brandon Williams. Congressman Nick Rahall presented the scholarships on behalf of the organization...

Read the... Full Article (Word.doc)

Vernon Chittum and his parents with U.S. Senator Joe Manchin 2012

We presented our first scholarship to Vernon Chittum of Hilltop, West Virginia. U.S. Senator Joe Manchin delivered a powerful motivational speech regarding why we all need to further our education and presented Vernon with his scholarship. Vernon will be attending Concord University in Athens, WV.

Home  · About Us  · Board & Staff  · Current Projects  · Mission Statement  · Contact Us  · Help & Contribute